Home > Sports


Posted on: 12/22/2016
By  Austin Ide
One thing that is ever changing in the world of racing whether it's IndyCar, Formula One, NASCAR or at a local dirt track, is safety. Just days after the 2017 rules package was released by the American Motor Racing Association (AMRA), they announced that they would begin to mandate fire suppression systems in the car for the 2017 racing season. This came after a 2016 racing season in which there were numerous incidents which fire played a factor. The most notable was the accident at Southern Ohio Speedway where the life of Charlie Floyd was taken after his car went up in flames.
"Ultimately, we understand all sides of the conversation in regards to the need for fire suppression systems and we feel confident in our 2017 rules" stated AMRA official Angie Haught. "We understand anytime there is an added cost to compete, it directly impact the teams, but we feel this investment in safety gives our competitors the best opportunity to return home safely in the event of an accident" added Haught. (AMRA.com)
AMRA also stated on their Facebook page that after many talks with retailers and people who have had experience using the Firecharger Fire Suppression system, that it will not be legal in AMRA competition. AMRA went on to comment on the post and said some of the reasons that the Firecharger Fire Suppression system would not be used is because of it's "lack of SFI rating, no gauge and ways to ensure the system functions."
For the new 2017 rules package on each division just go to amramodified.com.

Pooch Pool Party Cancelled

The previously announced Pooch Pool Party planned for Monday, August 21st 2017 at the Marietta Aquatic Center has been cancelled due to the distemper scare in the area.


Bobcat Beer

Starting this season, Ohio University in Athens will enact a new policy allowing the sale of beer during football games.

Scoreboard for Saturday, August 19, 2017
  • MLB

    Cincinnati Reds


    Atlanta Braves


    St. Louis Cardinals


    Pittsburgh Pirates


    Cleveland Indians


    Kansas City Royals